This is a very stupid scam, that got me thinking this can’t possibly work. But it probably does!
It preys on trusting naive people and its an absolute disgrace lol.
So from the top.
I got my free upgrade and decided I didnt want it because I have a tendency to drop my phone, and the new K850i seemed a lot more fragile than its K800i counterpart.
I thought ok why not, i’m a bit strapped for cash… lets eBay it.
So I list it and watch it religiously for 3 whole days, my mouth drooling at the concept of a few quid to pull me out the red. Only for two astronomical bids to fly in 2 minutes from the end of the auction.
It jumped from £153 to £565 in the dying seconds. The two ebay users who engaged this last minute bidding war had about four pieces of feedback between the two of them and were both from America. Which I found odd because I specifically stated I would only post to the UK.
I reported my suspicions to eBay who informed me the account in question had been ‘phished’, and that the user who bid on my item was not in control of his/her account at the time. Therefor it was best to just re-list my item.
So I did.
I then received this email cleverly disguised to look like it had came from eBay.
FROM:kossyzf001@gmail.com on behalf of aw-confirm@ebay.com (e.bayhelp_deskp@rescueteam.com
Notice : Administrative Technical Error
Dear eBay Customer,
This email is to inform you that our recent notification sent to you from eBay was a technical error .We are sorry for any mix up we might have caused both you and the buyer. We realized that the bid initiated from Buyer was from the true owner.
If this person was the winning bidder for the transaction then the transaction in question should be reconsidered and completed. You must end the auction if the item have been re-listed.We therefore urge you to go and ship the item or take the necessary step if the buyer has paid for the item.
Thank you for being an asset to the eBay trading community. We wish you continued success with your transactions on eBay.
Regards,Note:That you can reply the buyer through this e-mail :kossyzv002@yahoo.com
Customer Support (Trust and Safety Department)
eBay Inc
Now I dunno about you. But this guys sheer lack of grammatical knowledge, and of the actual English language itself made me a bit skeptical. After forwarding this email to “spoof@ebay.co.uk” they confirmed my suspicions and this was NOT from eBay.
Oh well… end of?…
Unfortunately not…
Just then “1 New email message recieved”!
Its from the guy who bought my phone.
Now for an American this guys English was diabolical.
FROM:kossyzf001@gmail.com on behalf of Brian Gallop (kossyzv002@yahoo.com)
Hello Seller,
I will like to tell you that am sorry for the wrong bidding cos i made
mistake when i was bidding on your item…..I will like to tell you
that am getting your item for my son whose study in Nigeria as a
birthday gift and i have already contact royal mail first class
delivery sign and i was told by them that it will cost me 30 pounds to
ship to the location….i will be adding the amount to your total cost
and i will want you to kindly help me to ship out the item as soon as
you receive confirmation from paypal.Here is the shipping address Below:
Dr Sunday O.U
No 4 Adeniyi street off sapon road,
Abeokuta
Ogun State
Nigeria
121101Looking forward to read from you Asap
Did you spot the email address’s?
Is it a coincidence that the guy I’m supposedly posting it to has the same email address as the error notification department of eBay?
So… he wants me to ship MY £259 mobile telephone out to his son in Nigeria, as soon as I receive an email from paypal telling me that his payment has came through. Thats £565 + £30 for the shipping, which he phoned royal mail for, from America, at 22:21 UK time. Now, I do not know where his post office is, but mine closes at 5pm at the latest!
Just then…
“1 New email message received”
Oh my whats this? You guessed it! My PayPal receipt.
Informing me that the money is waiting to go into my account, but i have to first verify that I have posted the item by sending the tracking number.
FROM:kossyzf001@gmail.com on behalf of service@paypal.com
This message is originated from paypal company.We have receive an order from our client regarding the payment made to your paypal account.
The payment has been successfully made but due to security reason we have to receive the shipment tracking number before the next 48hour for the processing of your order.
This a new measure we are taking to protect both our sellers and buyers against fraudulent customers.
Once you have shipped the item send us the shipment tracking number for verification after the number has verify your account will be credited instantly.
This PayPal® payment has been deducted from the buyer’s account and has been ” APPROVED”but will not be credited to your account until the shipment reference/ tracking number is sent to us for shipment verification so as to secure both the buyer and the seller. Below are the necessary information requested before your account will be credited. Send tracking number to us or email us through this mail:Paypal.consultant_onlinemoney@officeemail.net You can also reach us on this number +447031858318Delivery Information
Address: Dr Sunday O.U
No 4 Adeniyi street off sapon road
Abeokuta
OgunState
Nigeria
121101
Phone number+2348032418721**PLEASE NOTE**
You will get the tracking number from Post Office then send it to us.
Once shipment has been verified and the tracking number sent to us, You will receive a “CONFIRMATION Email” from PayPal® informing you that the Money has been credited.
Note: eBay and PayPal will be responsible for the item loss or damage once we recieve the tracking number
Thank you for using PayPal!
The PayPal Team
I particularly like the line “eBay and PayPal will be responsible for the item loss or damage once we receive the tracking number” – AND… There’s that bloody email address again. Or I can phone PayPal on a fucking mobile telephone number!
So basically – If I’m stupid enough, my phone would be on its way to Nigeria and my bank account would still be overdrawn.
DO NOT BE STUPID ENOUGH TO FALL FOR THIS! PLEASE!
there are many people under that name on facebook it seems pretty common, doubt scammers would use their real name either to be fair… if you were gonna rip off the world would you tell them your name? lol
boy.. im i glad i read this i was about to ship an expensive watch but i kinda had a bad feeling, and u just confirmed it…….
Thank you, they are still doing it. Something must be done. I will do my part and report them.
1. Minimal effort hook:
“is this item on for sale….”
2. Enticing offer (Sara’s post saved me here):
“Thanks for your mail,i am buying the item for my cousin who school in
oversea.i will add $120 for shipping,i would have done it local transaction
but i am out of town presently… you can get back to me with your PayPal
email account so i can pay now. Hope to hear from you soon
best regard”
3. Proof of “legitimacy”:
“I am very interested in that . I live in Tennessee and was wondering if you will accept paypal as payment..I will also add an additional $70 to your asking price if you will have it shipped overnight. This is legit and paypal will even call to verify the transaction with you. Thanks”
I will try an get any more info out of them.
Got another one from a different “person”, like a day later. >:[
Here are the general things that just throw me off:
- IP of the original is untracable.
- Original message was a low effort hook. “One sentence and move on” deal.
- Second message did not even mention the name of the item.
- Didn’t read the post, didn’t notice the cash only and local in-person pickup requirements.
- Poor English.
- Forceful suggestion to use PayPal
- “Out of state” shopping.
- “Out of country” delivery.
- No questions about the condition of the item
- Oh and finally, having two people send me similar sounding emails.
thanks for keeping this post up to date guys! glad to hear it is helping people!
So I listed my iPhone on Craigslist and got an offer from some JOHN BROWN saying he wants me to ship it to an “international” place and he’ll check royal mail…I live in the U.S but I wasn’t thinking since I never actually sold anything on Craigslist before. Well soon after he sent me his address:
Kindly get
the item shipped today so that it will be there early and email me
immediately the shipment is done.
Below are the shipping address:
Name : Adebowale Adebayo
Address: No 24 Adeniyi Street,off Eleweran
City Abeokuta,
State: OgunState
Zipcode:121101
Country: Nigeria
Phone : +2348052670322
Kindly get the item shipped out today and get back to me and PayPal
with the shipment tracking number for verification so as to fund your
account immediately. It is nice doing business with you.
I checked paypal and got nothing and not even an email and than realized it’s for Nigeria and told him since I haven’t gotten the money, I rather not ship to Nigeria. He kept on emailing me saying he sent the money so I better send him the phone. I googled the name and got directed here and am shocked to see how many people had the same problem from the same address. Got saved from a scam! Thanks!